Testimonials - a few comments from our guests

"Exceptional property that is beautifully decorated but also has a relaxed ambience with pleasant public rooms. It was very well maintained and clean while enjoying a wonderful aspect very close to the loch. We had a delicious lunch in Oban at Ee-Usk, the fish restaurant on the seafront while the local inn does good pub food and is a short walk from the house. We had also pre-ordered meat from Grant's, the local butcher in Taynuilt, which was very high quality. There are lots of things to do locally and the highlight for our group (of 10) was the boat trip from Easdale with Seafari. Only regrets are that I wished we could have stayed longer and brought bicycles given the proximity of the house to the quiet loch-side road. " 
May 2017 - Moorcroft Family

"This old (possibly once a farmhouse) home is beautifully situated on the edge of Loch Awe. It is south facing and has large and well kept gardens ablaze (at this time of year) with azaleas and rhododendrons. Inside it has five spacious bedrooms, one with a very modern en suite bathroom. There are three other bathrooms, all well equipped. The kitchen is warm, thanks to the Aga, and easily fits a ten adults around the counter or the long dining room table. There are two big lounges with TV and comfortable chairs. Our week was warm and sunny so the outdoor facilities were more important to us. These included the "football field" overlooked by the patio with chairs and table where drinks in the evening sun were enjoyed every evening. To the rear was the hot tub, the games room (pool, darts, bar football) and the children's play centre. Across the road there was a boat house with three canoes, paddles and life jackets all available for the use of guests. Everything was in working order and just as described in the owner's brochure. Our family week (eight adults, two 'teens and two toddlers) was a big success because of the comforts and facilities of Achnasmeorach House and its position in the heart of wonderful walking country. The drive to Oban (about 30 minutes) was easy and we loved the town for its harbour, interesting shops, restaurants and distillery. This note does not do justice to the fun we had together in this lovely place. I can only say go there and try it yourself, it will not disappoint." 
May 2017 – Childs Family Group

"We simply had the most wonderful Xmas holiday at Achnasmeorach ! From the moment we arrived to a welcome bottle of champagne & shortbread and walked into a beautiful, spacious and superbly decorated house. We all thought WOW! From the drive down the Loch road past woodlands and waterfalls we saw some potentially nice walks which we never managed due to the changeable weather, but that didn't spoil our time as the house was so well positioned to look out and just watch the weather happen across the Loch & mountains. We knew we were going to enjoy a very relaxing stay here. We couldn't wait to light the log fire and settle down for a cosy relaxing time. We were spoilt for choice of what to do next, by enjoying the games together in the family room, relaxing in front of one of the many films from the collection, chatting & relaxing in the dining room in the front of the fire, the sitting room in front of the wood burner or some competition in the games room - of course we all loved the daily early evening hot tub ! The recently refurbished Kilchrenan Innis only a short walk (10 mins) away is very warm & friendly - we enjoyed lovely food and a pleasant welcome. Thank you so much Scott & Marrion for a very memorable Christmas in your beautiful house. We will definitely be looking to return sometime soon. " 
December 2016 - Hodkinson Family Group

"This is a beautiful house in a stunning location, which has everything you could possibly need for a fabulous holiday. The house itself is very nicely furnished and decorated, with all the kitchen equipment etc that you might need. There are many toys and games for children both inside, outside and in the separate games room. The hot tub is a nice feature and we all enjoyed a few evenings in there. The loch-side location is simply stunning and we spent a lot of time picnicking down by the water, taking out the kayaks, fishing in the loch (unsuccessfully sadly!) and enjoying the beautiful scenery. There is also so much to do in the surrounding area that you almost can't fit it all in to a week. We did a day trip to Mull, a "seafari" trip and a distillery tour, amongst other things. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable holiday in a fantastic home. I would not hesitate to recommend it! " 
September 2016 - Mottram Family Group

"We chose this holiday to accommodate the needs of three generations with different needs and expectations and it really did do just that. There were the four Munros, the kayaks, the games room, to mention a few options for the fit and competitive members of the party and then there was the superb garden, scenery, hot tub, boat trips all of which catered for the less active amongst us. The house itself was amazing, so homely and a perfect place for us all to gather in the evenings and enjoy a meal together. The facilities left us wanting for nothing and there were very generous provisions provided in the kitchen to allow us to cook and even to bake! We made full use of everything in the house and area and even went out to the Island of Easdale by boat, a great success allowing an 82 year old in the party to take part fully! We certainly have many fond memories of our holiday and hope to return in the future. Thank you to the owners who were very helpful from beginning to end! " 
August 2016 - Williams Family

"What an amazing house and location. There were 11 of us spanning 4 generations and there was more than enough space for us all. We all loved Achnasmeorach House. It had something for everyone. We all thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquillity, the beautiful house and gardens. The hot tub, games room and kayaks/canoe were a real bonus - it was difficult to get the kids out of them! We had a couple of things that needed to be arranged, such as a chair for the shower for my elderly grandmother-in-law. But, the owner was kind enough to be available to sort these out immediately, which was very reassuring. The only downside was that the wifi seemed to be a little temperamental. But, this is a very small niggle (and not even one of mine. The kids shouldn't be on tech when on holiday in the highlands anyway!). If you do go and wish to hire a boat, Cliff at Loch Awe Boats is a really lovely guy and will collect you from the house's jetty to get the boat and take you back again when the hire period is up. He even threw in a few cups of coffee and ice cream for the kids! We very much hope to visit again. Maybe next year. " 
August 2016 - Smith Family

"Fantastic holiday! We stayed in this amazing house in late May / early June. We were two families of 8, including 4 children aged between 10-14. The house is immaculate and incredibly well-equipped, and the children had one of their best holidays playing in the dedicated games room, taking canoes onto the loch or playing football on the pitch in front of the house. As for the adults, we all agreed the house was perfect. The owners have thought of everything, which meant we immediately went into holiday mode. The views from the house were utterly breathtaking and the long hours of daylight meant we could enjoy looking out onto the loch until late at night. The house was very spacious, with five good sized bedrooms and an extra room off the huge master suite that can easily accommodate another two people. The size of the living areas meant that we were all able to find a quiet area whenever we wanted and no-one felt as though they were on top of each other. The property is located towards the end of a no-through road, so there was very little passing traffic. The nearby village of Taynuilt (about 9 miles away) has essential items, and we ordered a Tesco delivery for our arrival. There is also a fab pub less than a mile from the house. We ate there twice during our stay and had great food and friendly service both times. There is lots to see and do in the area. We went to Inverary jail on a rainy day, did an afternoon horse riding trek, visited Oban, went out on the water with Sea-fari (a definite highlight) and climbed Ben Nevis. There is still loads we want to see and do in the area, and we all hope hope to return one day to this piece of paradise.

A huge thank you to Scott, who was very responsive to emails. We all had the most perfect holiday and have many wonderful memories from our time in Achnasmeorach House. " 
June 2016 – Yonge Family Group

"Fantastic. Immaculate and high spec property. Moored wee boat up for the weekend on own private jetty . Kids loved it, front garden with footy goals is a sheltered sun trap. Huge hot tub great for when Weins tucked up in bed . Sad to leave - kids cried for at least 30 mins on the way home. Would highly recommend and return (especially when the pub 3 mins down the road is refurbished! " 
April 2016 – The MacCallum Family

"Just came back from this amazing house after a week of luxury. There was everything you could possibly want and more. It was all good quality and well kept. The weather was glorious so the men made use of the canoes and fishing equipment while us ladies watched from the hot tub!!! We booked a ferry over to Islay to visit some distilleries which are well worth a visit. Tobermory was also a nice place to go. All in all we had a wonderful time and would certainly recommend it to friends and relations. " 
June 2016 - Caines Family

"Fantastic. Immaculate and high spec property. Moored wee boat up for the weekend on own private jetty . Kids loved it, front garden with footy goals is a sheltered sun trap. Huge hot tub great for when Weins tucked up in bed . Sad to leave - kids cried for at least 30 mins on the way home. Would highly recommend and return (especially when the pub 3 mins down the road is refurbished! " 
April 2016 – The MacCallum family

"We have just had an amazing holiday. We do appreciate the chance to stay in your beautiful home. It had everything we could have wished for. We all agreed that it wasn't really necessary to travel around the area because we were perfectly content to stay put. The kids had a great time with the kayaks, canoe and loved the hot tub despite the weather!!! For us the crowning glory was on the 26th lunch at the Ardanaiseig Hotel. What an amazing place. We had a long table in the room overlooking Loch Awe. The food was superb!!!! And we were looked after so well by the staff. Thank you so much for making our Golden Wedding Anniversary so special by staying at Achnasmeorach House " 
April 2016 – R Jamieson

"A wonderful spacious house with excellent facilities. Lots of room for a large extended family of 11, including large well equipped kitchen & dining room, TV room and games room for teenagers and quiet conservatory. Fantastic views over the Loch and great to be able to walk 30 seconds down to the boat house and Loch shore. The kayaks and life jackets were great and used frequently. A small boat for the more elderly in our party would have been nice but that's being picky! West Scotland is a wonderful area despite the changeable weather. Highly recommend driving on the old round following the Loch to the coast, Seil Island, Arduaine gardens, Oban and a wildlife boat trip from Seil Island to the islands. Would highly recommend this accommodation for larger groups, especially if you don't mind the 20 minute drive down the minor road to the Loch, but that's what gives it it's attraction of quiet, peaceful with fantastic views!"
August 2015 – Lee Family

"The house is spectacular, very big, managed to accommodate two families with ample room. Spectacular views to wake up to from the front bedrooms. Luxurious Jacuzzi and the boat house and jetty gave us great fun. We all loved it and want to return as soon as we can." 
August 2015 – Lender-Swain Group

"What can I say that hasn't been said in the other reviews? This is a very spacious and very well equipped house in a stunning setting. It has a very homely feel, and easily accommodated our family group of 10 this August. The house had so much to offer and was so peaceful and quiet we didn't feel inclined to go any further, the view of the sunset from the end of the jetty is fantastic. We did however venture over to Mull via the ferry (as foot passengers) from Oban and took a return trip on the service bus to Tobermory, this was a very enjoyable day out. On another day the boys went mountain biking at Fort William which again isn't too far away. We highly recommend Achnasmeorach House, it is a credit to the owner Scott who was most helpful and a pleasure to deal with. We were very sad to leave and definitely hope to return."
August 2015 – Marshall Family

"If you are looking for a peaceful location and fabulous views then Achnasmeorach House is for you. I booked it for a birthday celebration for friends and family and needed somewhere that could provide plenty of comfort and a range of activities for so many people. The house was all I hoped for and more. We were blessed with good weather and made use of all that the house had to offer. The kayaks, fishing rods (nothing caught!) and jetty were fabulous assets and we hired a small boat from nearby Loch Awe boat hire to explore a bit more of the loch. The games room and hot tub were used every night, the large garden was great for the children and the adults as we brought our own croquet set but football nets were provided for more energetic activity. Some of us climbed nearby Ben Cruachan (with snow on the top) and visited the power station and some got over to Mull. The property is beautifully decorated and maintained with plenty of space for everyone. We ate in every day so I can't comment on local restaurants and used the "click and collect" service from Tesco in Oban as we were unable to have it delivered but that was no great hardship. Last but not least, the owner Scott, provided great customer service. As you may gather from this review, I would have no hesitation in recommending this property for a great "get away from it all" holiday or house party."
June 2015 – Robert Group

"Just returned from a very relaxing stay in this lovely house. A home from home, the house is very comfortable , well furnished and very well equipped (down to the telescope and binoculars to help you enjoy the spectacular view!). You can stay in and just enjoy the wonderful Loch on your doorstep. The house offers a range of activities including kayaks and fishing as well as a selection of areas just to "hang out" whatever your age and interests (jetty, conservatory, games room, hot tub and very cosy living room with log fire - just picture perfect for a wee dram of an evening). Or you can venture out - Oban is about 30 to 40 minutes drive and offers good restaurants ( The Temple highly recommended as well as Coast and EE Usk), a distillery in the centre of town and ferries to Mull and other islands. Scenic drives can also take seafood lovers to Loch Fyne and the Loch Leven Seafood Cafe (driving back through Glen Coe as the sun was setting was magical) .

Closer to home the Taychreggan Hotel offers fine dining and the Taynuilt Hotel is also to be recommended. A surprise find was the Inverawe Smokery where the cafe provides great food. We played golf at Taynuilt, Dalmally (very pretty but watch out for third hole - the well named "Orchy Splash" ) Dragon's Tooth and Inverary and there are plenty of other courses including Glencruiten in Oban we just did not get around to. The owner of the house was very pleasant to deal with and very responsive. He provided a lot of useful information about the area and its attractions and his affection for this fine house was evident in all the little touches.

We live in Hong Kong and for us an abiding memory will be the absolute peace and calm at Achnasmeorach House. We slept so well and awoke on occasion to see deer in the garden. I would recommend this house without hesitation to anyone thinking of visiting the west of Scotland (unless possibly you want to go "clubbing"!)."
June 2015 – Kemp 

We had a fantastic holiday in a wonderful house two families with our young adults brought our own boat weather fantastic. Everything about the house and the facilities just amazing. Will rerun again in the near future."
June 2015 – Robert Family

"We stayed for a week in early May for a family holiday and could not fault the place. We were a family of 7 ranging in age from 27 - 60 and all of us thoroughly enjoyed our break. The house is in a stunning, somewhat remote location but this adds to it's charm - the views are simply breath taking! The house itself is very spacious and well equipped and we had everything that we needed to make it an enjoyable holiday. There is plenty to do and see in the local area and lots of wildlife too! Would recommend this house to everyone!"
May 2015 – Beckwith Family

"All just as beautiful as we expected, no complaints, would recommend it to anybody. enjoyed the Taycheggan and Ardanaiseig hotels for meals. Particularly appreciated the canoes, Enjoyed the walks. and the view."
May 2015 – Phillip Family

"Just wanted to thank you for sharing your beautiful house. We had an even better time than anticipated, the house was everything we could have wanted and more. Everything's been thought of, it really is a home from home and we all felt incredibly sad to be leaving. We were completely blessed with the weather too (apart from day 1!) and so we all had the best time in the canoes during the days, drinking wine on the deck, bbqs for dinner then evenings in the hot tub. It really was perfect and we will definitely return. Plenty space for 10 adults and 2 children. We had plans to travel and sight see but as it turned out, apart from a few trips to Oban for supplies, we spent all our time at the house. There really isn't any need to leave. It's a truly magical and peaceful spot. Highly recommended to anyone."
April 2015 – Sabiston Family

"From the moment we arrived we fell in love with the beautiful family atmosphere of this house. There was something for everyone, the children,teenagers and adults. We loved cooking in the fantastic well equipped kitchen and sharing all our meals together. The kayak and canoes were brilliant fun as was the hot tub. The location was superb, how lovely to wake up to those majestic views each morning, no matter what the weather! Ample room for all 12 of us, we had the most awesome family holiday and highly recommend Achnasmeorach House to anyone considering this for a family holiday or special occasion. This is the best holiday home I have ever stayed in. Thankyou for the wonderful memories, they will stay and be spoken of often, im sure. Amazing!" 
March 2015 – Delaney family 

"We really enjoyed our week at Achnasmeorach. What a wonderful house in a beautiful spot. We spend our week canoeing, hiking, swimming, hot tubbing, playing football, cooking at the aga, smoking salmon at the lakeshore, picking blackberries, watching dolphins, visiting Oban, drinking whiskey, playing cards, having movie nights and enjoying the house. Ideal for families! "
Mejink families - August 2014

"Beautiful stay and very nice owner. This part of Scotland is breathtaking. What luck to be able to pass these moments in such a property. Thank you so much."


The'Happy Family' Brussels, Belgium. May 2014

"My family stayed for a week starting on the 19th July 2014 and we seemed to time it perfect for the weather. The house itself is perfect in every way with a warm homely feeling in every room. There was more than enough space for us all and the large TV room is great for movie nights. With the great weather we spent most of our time outdoors and the gardens are well tended and very peaceful with beautiful views over the loch. We enjoyed the jetty and boathouse and swam in the loch every day. The jetty is great for jumping in and getting over the cold straight away instead of inching into the water! The 3 kayaks were great fun and there were life vests to fit all sizes. Unfortunately I only got a small amount of fishing time but we used the equipment which was available and it worked perfectly well. After the cold dip in the loch we warmed up in the Jacuzzi Hot Tub and it was great at night with the lights on staring at the stars. My daughter enjoyed the pool table and darts board too. Also handy is the local hotel which is only a 5min walk away so the men enjoyed a bit of peace with a beer and a game of snooker. Oban is only 30min drive to stock up on supplies. All in all it was a great break with superb communication from the owner leading up to the break. We will definitely be back."
The Kershaw family – July 2014

"We enjoyed an active and also relaxing week at the house which was undoubtedly the star of our stay. There was enough space within the house for all ages to mingle and yet allow space for separate activities when required . The garden gave enough space for the children to run around and the addition of the boat house meant we could enjoy access to the loch. We also enjoyed outings to Sea World, Cruachan, the Loch Awe Smokery and took the ferry from Oban to Mull where we explored Duart Castle. The best day for the four year olds was spent paddling in the loch at Kilburn Castle and making mud pies as well as toasting marshmallows on an open fire by the boathouse (while beating off the midgies!) A very special holiday which I hope the young will remember. "
Mr I Chapman – June 2014

"The house offered everything that one could imagine for an extended faimily holiday covering 3 generations set against the backdrop of Loch Awe. Even though we were blessed with good weather it wouldn't have mattered as there was something to do regardless. The setting of the house is something to behold. Would have no hesitation in recommending this property."
Mrs M Duffus – May 2014

"We had a fantastic week at your beautiful house, it could not have been better for us. You have thoughtfully furnished and equipped it to a fantastic high standard. Our week was a mini-family reunion and Dad kindly footed the bill, at least for the rental! The weather improved through the week and we had a lot of very warm dry weather. We made excellent use of the water and had taken our own double and single kayak. The kids swam a lot off the jetty. We had some good trips down to the Black Islands and in fact on our last day all the way down to Kilchurn Castle."
The Smith family – July 2014

"I'd just like to follow up on my brother's comments. The house is amazing and you have obviously gone to great efforts to ensure that it is equipped to an incredibly high standard - we wanted for nothing. I am fairly fussy when it comes to staying in houses and could not fault your house. Indeed it exceeded my expectations. That and the incredible location made for a wonderful holiday. After Scotland I spent a week 'recovering' in Bath - our week at Loch Awe was a full-on outdoor experience and as my brother said, 2 weeks would have not been enough time to see and do everything. Many thanks for making your lovely house available to us and I hope we get a chance to stay in it again."
The Smith family – July 2014

"Well, superlatives just couldn't do our stay justice. You honestly have a fantastic property. The time, effort and money which you have put into the property is self-evident. Absolutely wonderful getting a property in Scotland which is up to the same/above the standards at home. In fact, I can probably say it's a first. I have been waxing lyrical to all and sundry about our stay and I can honestly say that I would rather rent your property than go to Gleneagles/Old Course for a weekend. Stunning!"
J McNair – October 2014

"We have had a super break in your house. The weather has been kind and we have enjoyed the amazing views.  It really is a special place. Thank you for letting us use the house this week.  I hope we can return."
L Dewar – October 2014

"‘A stunning house, tastefully and sensibly furnished with everything you would expect in a house of this grandeur. The bread maker was a great idea, wake up to the smell of fresh bread rather than the prospect of a 30 min round trip to the 'local' shop. The really good bit is the view across the loch from the main rooms or outside terrace, not another house in sight. We had great weather so plenty of swimming and canoeing on the loch and evenings in the hot tub. When you are here you don't really need to, or want to, stray far, just get 'Tesco on line' to deliver all you need, don't forget the bread flour and yeast! Our only day out was a lads event to Sutherland's Grove where we did a canyon descent - an exciting day out but make sure you have a leader who know the route."
The Lowe family – August 2014

"It is impossible not to feel relaxed upon entering this beautiful house. From the warm welcome of the AGA to the stunning views of the loch and mountains from the large bay windows, Achnasmeorach invites you to enjoy all that is offered in this elegant and superbly equipped home. Every detail is taken care of from the simplest of things such as laundry detergents and soap and towels for each guest, to the hot tub and wide range of entertainments and activities to keep children and teens occupied. No detail has been forgotten which ensured we felt immediately at home and ready to enjoy our holiday in this tranquil place.

Our family enjoyed some sunshine during our February holiday and we were able to spend time on the lochside fishing and enjoying the fresh air but this lovely house and grounds offers so much that a happy holiday is not weather dependent. We were all perfectly content sitting in the hot tub in the pouring rain watching the crazy weather sweep down the loch or curled up with a good book in front of the log burner. Even cooking was relaxing in the well equipped and spacious kitchen; experimenting with AGA cooking with varying degrees of success (the bread was a triumph, burnt porridge distinctly less so!)

We came home to Yorkshire thoroughly rested and relaxed and we wouldn’t hesitate to return. Thank you Scott and Marion."
The Bulloughs, February 2014

"We all had a great time staying in Achnasmeorach. The house was wonderful with just the right level of comfort for our crowd. Plenty of room, and more than adequate facilities The kids thought the big TV in the lounge was just amazing and spent many an hour playing away on their Xbox. We never got to use the hot tub but it look excellent also. We had some great weather the first half of our week which made the holiday. The surrounding area is really nice. No downsides to report, all in all 10/10. Would highly recommend, and will consider for future holidays."
The McBain’s, October 2013

"Our stay at the Achnasmeorach was so comfortable and everyone in the family enjoyed it. The house decorations and furniture gives an authentic Victorian feel. I commend your choice of appliances and the kitchenware."
The Jamal’s, August 2013

"We really enjoyed our stay in Achnasmeorach House. Not only are the views amazing, this house is also very beautiful and enjoyable to stay in and would highly recommend it. The house has a hot tub which was a lovely treat and beautiful gardens. We would definitely go back and visit."
The Jolley’s, November 2013

"Our group had a lovely time at Achnasmeorach and would certainly consider coming back in the future."
The McMurray’s, November 2013

"Let me say thank you for allowing us to visit Achnasmeorach. We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed both the house and the surrounding area. One week was definitely too short."
The Clark’s, August 2013

"A very memorable New Year in a luxurious, very comfortable house in the most beautiful setting. Hoping to visit again soon."
The Sherliker’s, New Year 2013.

EMAIL

FACEBOOK